image

Florida Licensed Massage Therapists Upcoming Renewals


Here are the Continuing Education requirements for Florida licensed Massage Therapists:
 

  • A maximum of twenty-four (24) hours of Florida Board of Massage Therapy approved continuing education must be obtained by all licensed massage therapists during the biennium of September 1, 2017 through August 31, 2019. All CE for Health Care Professionals - FloridA courses have been approved by the Florida Board of Massage Therapy.
  • The 24 hours must include the required mandatory courses: Prevention of Medical Errors (2 hours), Professional Ethics (2 hours), and Laws and Rules of Massage Therapy (2 hours).
  • Twelve of the 24 can be by home study. All CE for Health Care Professionals - Florida courses are home study.
  • Twelve of the 24 hours must be via live classroom instruction. These hours must be completed via live classroom instruction, be in the presence of the instructor, must include hands-on participation by the licensee and/or demonstration by the instructor and may include the history of massage therapy, human anatomy and physiology, kinesiology and/or pathology.
  • The remaining 6 general hours may include, but are not limited to, courses in communication with clients and other professionals; insurance relating to third party payment or reimbursement for services; psychological dynamics of the client-therapist relations; risk management, including charting, documentation, record keeping or infection control or massage practice management. A course in cardio-pulmonary resuscitation is allowed. Attendance at a Board meeting also counts as CE. Consult the Board Rules for specifics, Rules 64B7-28.009, and 64B7-28.010, F.A.C.
  • LAW CHANGE regarding HIV/AIDS courses: As of 2012, the Florida Legislature repealed the Florida statute requiring Massage Therapists and Athletic Trainers to take a course in HIV/AIDS each license renewal period, therefore the course is no longer mandatory for license renewal.
     

The CE requirements for persons NEWLY LICENSED during the current biennium are different.

  • For first time license renewal for licenses issued between September 1, 2017 through August 31, 2019:
  • Locate the date of issuance of your license on the front of the license. Then calculate the number of CE hours to be taken. 
  • You must take 1 hour of CE for each month or partial month that has elapsed since the issuance of the license through the month of August 2019.
  • The total CE hours taken must include 2 hours in Medical Errors.
  • There are no other specific CE subject area requirements for first time renewals, but all remaining courses must be taken from Florida Board of Massage Therapy approved CE providers.
  • The courses may be taken as home study or live for first renewal.
  • Send the Board an email if you have questions about the CE requirements. Or consult the free Basic Services account that is set up under your license number at CE Broker. See our "Professional Links" page for links to the Board and CE Broker.