image

Florida Clinical Laboratory Personnel Upcoming Renewals
 

Here are the Continuing Education Requirements for Florida licensed Clinical Laboratory Personnel during the current biennium - September 1, 2018 through August 31, 2020:
 

A minimum of twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education provided by Florida Board of Clinical Laboratory Personnel Approved CE Providers. CE for Health Care Professionals - Florida is an approved CE Provider.

As part of the 24 hours all clinical laboratory personnel must take:

  • A 1 hour course on HIV/AIDS (required by Section 381.0034, Florida Statutes)
  • A 2 hour course in Prevention of Medical Errors (required by Section 456.031, Florida Statutes) This course must be Board APPROVED course. Our course is APPROVED.
  • A 1 hour course in Florida Laws and Rules on the regulation of laboratory personnel (required by Board rule)
  • A minimum of 1 contact hour of continuing education in each specialty (category) area you are licensed in must be completed each biennium by all laboratory personnel. We do not offer these courses.
  • General courses are accepted. We offer several. See our Course List.
  • Supervisors and Directors must also take a 1 hour course in administration and supervision. We offer this course.

Newly licensed laboratory personnel have different CE requirements:

  • The Board rule exempts persons licensed during the current biennium from taking the 24 hours of CE.  However, once licensed, all new licensees must take a 2 hour course in Prevention of Medical Errors and a 1 hour HIV/AIDS course during the first biennium. These courses are required by Florida Statutes and the Board cannot waive these requirements.